G20 Leaders Summit 2014

Release date: 3 June 2014

The Group of Twenty (G20) is the premier forum for its members’ international economic cooperation and decision-making. Its membership comprises 19 countries plus the European Union. G20 leaders, Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors meet regularly to discuss ways to strengthen the global economy, reform international financial institutions, improve financial regulation, and discuss the key economic reforms that are needed in each of the member countries. Underpinning these meetings is a year-long program of meetings between senior officials, and of working groups coordinating policy on specific issues.

The group started in 1999 as a meeting of Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors in the aftermath of the Asian financial crisis. In 2008, the first G20 Leaders Summit was held, and the group played a key role in responding to the global financial crisis. Its decisive and coordinated actions boosted consumer and business confidence and supported the first stages of economic recovery. G20 leaders have met eight times since 2008, and there is a Leaders Summit each year.

Australia is the president of the G20 in 2014. The Summit will be held in Brisbane on 15 and 16 November at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre. This will be the most significant meeting of world leaders that Australia has hosted. Chairing the G20 in 2014 gives Australia an opportunity to influence the global economic agenda and to strengthen engagement with the world's major economies. The G20 will also be an opportunity to showcase Brisbane, Queensland and Australia to member and non-member countries as a world-class destination for tourism, education and business. As many as 4,000 delegates and 3,000 media representatives from around the world are expected to attend.

The design of the official G20 stamp is the result of a competition across the country’s secondary schools, judged by the Australian community. The winning design, by MacKillop College in Werribee, Victoria, draws inspiration from the significance of the G20 and the role of the host city, Brisbane.

The Stamp

In July 2013, all secondary schools across the country were invited to submit a design for the official G20 Australia Commemorative Stamp, to be put into circulation during Australia’s 2014 G20 presidency. The competition was a wonderful opportunity for students to showcase their creative talent, and produce a design that best represents the G20 and Australia’s role as host. There was a great response from secondary schools across Australia, with a range of unique designs submitted. Five shortlisted stamp designs were placed on the G20 Australia 2014 Facebook page. The winning design was chosen by the Australian community, with over 3000 votes cast.

MacKillop College in Werribee, Victoria won the competition with a design that drew inspiration from the significance of the G20 and the role of the host city, Brisbane.

The stamp is due for release by Australia Post in May 2014 – creating a little piece of history to mark Australia’s G20 presidency.

70c G20 Summit 2014

Technical Details

  • Issue date

    3 June 2014
  • FDI withdrawal

    1 July 2014
  • Denomination

    1 x 70c
  • Stamp design

    MacKillop College, Werribee, Vic
  • Product design

    Sharon Rodziewicz, Australia Post Design Studio
  • Paper (gummed)

    Tulluis Russell
  • Printer (gummed)

    RA Print
  • Printing process

  • Stamp size

    26mm x 37.5mm
  • Perforations

    14.6 x 13.86
  • Sheet layout

    Sheetlet of 10
  • National postmark

    Brisbane, Qld 4000
  • Issue withdrawal date

    31 December 2014

Additional Products

  • Sheetlet of 10
  • First day cover (blank)
  • First day cover (gummed)
  • Stamp pack
  • Maxicard (1)

*This content was produced at the time of the stamp issue release date and will not be updated.