The 15th Paralympic Games took place in Rio de Janeiro between 7 and 18 September. More than 4,000 athletes from 160 countries travelled to compete at Rio. Australian competitors brought home a total of 81 medals: 22 gold, 30 silver and 29 bronze.

Following the Games, the Australian Paralympic Committee announced wheelchair tennis champion and dual gold medallist Dylan Alcott OAM as the 2016 Paralympian of the Year. Dylan won two gold medals in the sport of wheelchair tennis at Rio 2016, becoming one of only a handful of Australian Paralympians to win gold in multiple sports.

To recognise this incredible achievement, Australia Post released a commemorative sheetlet of 10 stamps.

Technical specifications

Issue date
Issue withdrawal date
Stamp design
Australia Post Design Studio
Printing process
Offset lithography
Stamp size (mm)
35 x 35
Sheet layout
Sheetlet of 10

Stamp in this issue

$1 - Dylan Alcott, Paralympian of the Year 2016

The stamp photograph, courtesy of the Australian Paralympic Committee,
shows 25-year-old Dylan Alcott with one of his gold medals from the 2016
Paralympic Games in Rio.

This content was produced at the time of the stamp issue release date and will not be updated.