This year marks the 25th anniversary of the Australia Post Australian Legends Award and to mark the occasion, six of Australia’s greatest cricket stars will be honoured for their significant contribution to the world of sport and the wider community.

The 2021 Legends — Allan Border AO, Adam Gilchrist AM, Jason Gillespie, Dennis Lillee AM MBE, Ellyse Perry and Ricky Ponting AO — are all superstars of the game and have been recognised for their contribution to Australian culture as well as their sporting excellence.

Since 1997, the annual Australia Post Australian Legends Award has celebrated living Australians who have made a unique contribution to the nation through their field of endeavour, inspiring the community, and influencing the way Australians think about themselves. Past Legends have included sporting greats such as Sir Donald Bradman, Ron Barassi, Betty Cuthbert and Rod Laver, as well as contributors to the fields of medical science, philanthropy, the arts, Indigenous leadership and literature.

The game of cricket has been played in Australia for more than 200 years, and we have built a reputation as one of the world’s great cricketing nations. Cricket is a national obsession, whether as a popular participation sport played by more than a million Australians or as a much-loved spectator sport during summer. This year, through our partnership with Fox Sports, we invited cricket fans from across the country to guess our Australian Legends of Cricket, who were announced today during the live Fox Sport cricket coverage.

The Australian Legends of Cricket stamp issue will be available for pre-order from 6 February 2021.

Philatelic Team


This content was produced at the time of the stamp issue release date and will not be updated.