The Netball World Cup is the ultimate prize in international netball. This commemorative stamp issue celebrates Netball World Cup SYDNEY 2015, held between 7 and 16 August 2015 at Sydney Olympic Park.

Held every four years, since 1963, Netball World Cup sees the world’s top netball teams competing for the supreme prize in international netball. In 2015, the event will be hosted by Sydney at Sydney Olympic Park, between Friday 7 and Sunday 16 August 2015.

2015 marks a name change for the event, from the Netball World Championships to the Netball World Cup, as well as the introduction of a series of Regional Qualifying Events and a 10-day format.

The 16 nations set to take part in Netball World Cup SYDNEY 2015 come from five regions around the world: Asia, Europe, Oceania, the Americas and Africa. For the first time there are four African nations competing.

Set to compete are: Australia, Barbados, England, Fiji, Jamaica, Malawi, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Wales and Zambia.

Australia is the event’s reigning champion, winning an unparalleled 10 out of 13 tournaments to date, including the most recent in Singapore in 2011, and coming second three times.

The Australian national team, the Australian Diamonds, is also currently ranked No. 1 in the International Netball Federation’s world rankings. The International Netball Federation (INF) is the governing body of the Netball World Cup. Only full members of the INF are eligible to participate in a Netball World Cup.

This is the second time Sydney has hosted the Netball World Cup and the third time for Australia. Sydney hosted the event last in 1991, and Perth hosted the event in 1967.

Netball is most popular in Commonwealth nations and is predominantly played by women. According to the peak governing body for the sport of netball in Australia, netball is the most popular women’s team sport in the country, with an estimated one million players nationwide. In 1995, netball became a recognised sport by the International Olympic Committee. Netball became part of the Commonwealth Games in 1998.


The stamp was designed by Jo Muré, Australia Post Design Studio. A talented designer and illustrator, Jo has designed many recent stamp issues, including the Queen’s Coronation Diamond Jubilee (2013), the Australian Legends of Music (2013), the Royal Christening (2014), Floral Emblems (2014) and the 2015 issue, Islands of Australia.

Products released in this issue

  • Sheetlet of 10
  • Cover (blank)
  • First day cover (gummed)
  • Sheetlet pack
  • Maxicard (1)
  • PNC (RAM)
  • S/A booklet of 20 x 70c
  • Chequebook of 20 x 20 x 70c

Technical specifications

Issue date
4 August 2015
Issue withdrawal date
28 February 2016
1 x 70c
Stamp design
Jo Mure, Australia Post Design Studio
Product design
Jo Mure, Australia Post Design Studio
Bambra McKellar
Paper - gummed
Tullis Russell
Paper - self-adhesive
Printing process
Stamp size
26mm x 37.5mm
13.86 x 14.6
Sheet layout
Sheetlet of 10
FDI postmark
Sydney, NSW 2000
FDI withdrawal date
2 September 2015

Stamps in this issue

70c Netball World Cup Sydney 2015

The stamp design features the logo of the Netball World Cup SYDNEY 2015 and associated graphics. The logo graphically depicts two netball players in action as well as the Netball World Cup trophy.

This content was produced at the time of the stamp issue release date and will not be updated.